in ,

TikTok begins testing dislike button for comments

TikTok has been adding a raft of safety features to its social media platform, following increasing scrutiny on the effect it can have on its users. The company is now testing a feature that lets you dislike individual comments on a video.

Users can also flag a comment they consider irrelevant or inappropriate without other users being aware. While TikTok is just confirming it, this feature with its different options had already been spotted this year.

TikTok already has the video dislike option, which factors into the algorithm used to suggest videos. This helps to keep such content away from the user. However, with the new dislike button, apparently, the platform is giving users more tools for reporting comments that run afoul of community guidelines.

TikTok is also experimenting with reminders for creators that receive lots of negative comments to filter them or bulk block the accounts making the comments. However, there is no decision yet on whether to roll out the feature.

Meanwhile, TikTok reported in its transparency report that it deleted more than 85 million videos for various violations between October and December 2021. This was about one percent of all the videos uploaded during the period.

Here is part of TikTok’s blog post on the new comment reporting feature:

Fostering authentic engagement in comments

Alongside our work to proactively remove abusive and hateful content or behavior that violates our Community Guidelines, we also continue to explore new ways to help our community feel more in control over comments. We’ve started testing a way to let individuals identify comments they believe to be irrelevant or inappropriate. This community feedback will add to the range of factors we already use to help keep the comment section consistently relevant and a place for genuine engagement. To avoid creating ill-feeling between community members or demoralize creators, only the person who registered a dislike on a comment will be able to see that they have done so.

New safety reminders for creators

To make it easier for our community to find and use the built-in safety tools we offer, we’re experimenting with reminders that will guide creators to our comment filtering and bulk block and delete options. The reminders will be shown to creators whose videos appear to be receiving a high proportion of negative comments. We will continue to remove comments that violate our Community Guidelines, and creators can continue to report comments or accounts individually or in bulk for us to review.

We will update on the outcome of these tests and whether the feature will roll out in full in the coming weeks. This work is in addition to the many tools already available to our community. For example, community members can choose to filter all comments for manual review, or filter comments that contain keywords they have selected. Creators can also select who can comment on their content from Everyone, Friends (followers who they follow back) or No One. The ‘Everyone’ setting is not available to those below age 16.

Written by HackerVibes

This Mercedes Benz EV traveled 1,000 km on a single charge

The Ford F-150 Lightning launch set for April 26th